eating clean

I enjoyed a long Labor Day weekend. I hope you did too! The weekend also doubled as my mother’s “Birthday Weekend” so we did some celebrating on Saturday with a trip to the Kansas City Irish Fest. I was a “good” girl (kind of good) as I ate prior to going and had only two beers. Hey, it’s Kansas City! You have to have Boulevard beer when you’re at a large community event such as this! But, due to the heat, and not wanting more calories, I switched to water and continued enjoying the amazing Celtic Rock Chance the Arm (even getting my wee Irish mama up to dance!) and browsing in the pop-up market.

The evening followed with dinner at Lutfi’s Fried Fish restaurant. If you haven’t been, go! They have a few locations in the Kansas City metro. We split a pound of perfectly fried cat fish with sides of green beans and crinkle-cut fries. We added on the sweet potato muffins (so dreamy!) and took home a piece of Yellow Sunshine cake to enjoy with our evening decaf coffee. It was lemon cake with lemon pie filling as a topping. Very clever, and very delicious.

Sunday and Monday followed with more eating, including my mom’s favorite Blueberry-Cream Cheese Breakfast Casserole (which I promise to post another time). I was so glad that I committed to a “clean eating menu” for when reality returned on Tuesday. I hit up Costco for the bulk items, the Farmer’s Market at KC’s City Market for most produce and local honey, and Price Chopper for everything else and I had all I needed to get our household through the week and beyond. Read on for the menu and recipes I found to help me with my clean eating goals!

First up is the Black Bean + Sweet Potato enchiladas. I made a double batch: one dozen for the freezer and one dozen for the refrigerator to eat throughout the week, lunch and dinner.

Secondly, on the blog Gimme Some Oven, I found a recipe for an amazing 5-Ingredient Easy White Chicken Chili (really more of a soup) that had a secret ingredient: salsa verde. I had just visited a new-to-me Mexican joint, Tortilleria y Carniceria San Antonio. I say “new-to-me” because it seemed like everyone and their brother (and MY brother) knew about this place but neglected to tell me about it! They have two locations, so check them out.

Back to my story: San Antonio is a mercado (market)-slash-restaurant, so I picked up some tomatillos (little green tomatoes with a papery covering), one serrano pepper, an onion, garlic, cilantro and lime to make this muy sabrosa salsa verde recipe. And although I have a molcajete, I dragged out the food processor to mix all the vegetables together after roasting. It’s much easier to clean than the molcajete! Even easier is buying the salsa verde at your local market. Wink-wink.

As soon as the soup was finished we ate some, garnished with a mix of Mexican-style cheeses, diced avocado and a charred corn tortilla. It was perfect, and there is enough for leftovers for a couple of days of clean-eating lunches.

The remaining recipes I found for the week are Healthy Kung Pao Chicken from FitFoodieFinds and Salmon with Avocado-Cucumber Topping on CleanEatingMealPlan. I’ll wait until my leftovers are gone before I tackle those. I’ll let you know how they go, but if you want to do some clean eating, check out these awesome sites and blogs for their recipes!

Leave a Reply

