black bean + sweet potato enchiladas

Growing up Mexican-American, I was very lucky to have access to some of the best Mexican food in the U.S. Mis abuelos (my grandparents) migrated to Kansas and started their family. They were both talented in the kitchen, and luckily I inherited that skill. However, as I’ve gotten older and my palate has expanded, I find myself experimenting with the foods I ate while growing up. One of those foods is the classic enchilada. My grandmother’s enchiladas consisted of flour tortillas lightly fried then dipped in enchilada sauce (which I’m sure was made from scratch), then rolled up with beef, peas and diced potatoes, covered in cheese and then baked.

As delicious as mi abuela’s enchiladas were, I am now leaning towards healthier, more nutritive foods (some may say “super foods,” although to me most foods are “super!”). I’ve tweaked the traditional recipe, and taken some shortcuts, to create this lovely Black Bean + Sweet Potato Enchilada. My household likes to enjoy this for Meatless Mondays, and leftovers hold up very well for two more days of good eating.

This recipe makes enough for my household of three, with leftovers (which are even better!) and are pretty mild. For spiciness, add ground cayenne or chipotle to the enchilada sauce or look for spicy options among the canned enchilada sauce selections.

Serve with rice or fideo if you’re so inclined. My family enjoys this with sliced avocado and mango sprinkled with chili powder. They are a great complement to the salty/sweetness of this dish.

Ingredients:

  • 12 soft white corn tortillas (Mission is my favorite brand)
  • 1 cup of cooked black beans or one can (Bush’s canned beans are my favorite)
  • 1 can of enchilada sauce (My preferred brands are Victoria’s or La Preferida)
  • 1 small sweet potato peeled and diced, or a can of diced sweet potato
  • Salt (to taste)
  • 1 container of crumbled goat cheese

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Put black beans and sweet potatoes (undrained) into a small saucepan and cook over medium heat until sweet potatoes are cooked through (about 20 minutes). Stir often and if they come to a boil, lower the heat until just at a simmer. Remove from heat to allow to cool a bit. Drain liquids, then return bean mixture to the pan. Add salt to taste.

Black beans and sweet potatoes are meant to be together!
Black beans and sweet potatoes are meant to be together!

 

 

 

 

 

Spray a 9 x 12 glass dish with Pam or Baker’s Joy. Spoon two tablespoons of enchilada sauce into the pan and spread it with a silicone brush. Warm corn tortillas for about thirty seconds between two moistened paper towels in the microwave.

My favorite brands for this recipe.
My favorite brands for this recipe.

 

 

 

 

 

Place one tortilla in the glass pan, scoop about 1/3 cup of the bean/sweet potato mixture into the center of the tortilla. Fold over one end and then the other, then carefully flip and place in pan. Continue with remaining tortillas, placing each roll right next to the other. In my 9×12 pan I can easily fit 12 enchiladas.

enchiladas4 enchiladas5 enchiladas6 enchiladas7

 

 

 

 

Pour remaining enchilada sauce over the enchiladas and spread it around with the silicone brush.

A silicone brush makes quick work of spreading sauces!
A silicone brush makes quick work of spreading sauces!

 

 

 

 

 

Sprinkle goat cheese over the top and place pan in oven, uncovered for 30-40 minutes. Check at 30 minutes. You’ll want the sauce to be bubbling at the bottom of the pan, and the cheese to be slightly melted. (Goat cheese isn’t a big melter.)

Remove from oven when finished baking. Allow to cool about 10 minutes and serve!

enchiladas11

 

 

 

 

 

¡Buen provecho!

One thought on “black bean + sweet potato enchiladas

Leave a Reply

